21 Days Without Food

When I started this blog, I had intended to be more consistent with my posts.  Now that summer is here, I hope I can stick to that with a little more certainty.  I’ve been planning and preparing a couple of upcoming posts, such as an analysis of storytelling mediums, who I believe to be some of the greatest fictional psychopaths (because I’m weird that way), and a few more ideas.

But because I want to put something out there right now, and because I told myself I couldn’t go to bed unless I followed through on that goal, I am going to outline my thoughts regarding a 21 day fast that I completed recently.

As far as technical details are concerned, I was allowed any liquid, though i steered away from broth and things with high fructose corn syrup.  In hindsight, milk consistently gave me stomach aches, but I needed more diversity than water and fruit drinks.  This was my first serious fast and was very rewarding.

The goal of this time was certainly not to lose weight, though much had been lost, nor was it for any other vanity purpose.  I wanted to have a reason that demanded greater reliance on the Lord.  With all of my extra time (and money saved on groceries, as an added bonus) I was not only able to give more time to prayer and reading my Bible, but felt somewhat inclined to do so.  Much to my surprise, this alternated from being an authentic activity to feeling like a mandatory practice more than I’d expected it would.  Nevertheless, in many ways the fast helped me to refine my spiritual disciplines and my ability to tell myself ‘no’.

While it was bothersome functioning at about 70% of maximum power all of the time, I did feel more of a connection to God and a willingness to consistently and spontaneously pray to Him, whenever I wanted to or needed to.  I was waiting for some huge revelation to come in the course of my fasting, but nothing showed face.  I was not disappointed by this, because I had my fill of many smaller perks, all of which would take too much time to unwrap here.  Often when people set out to fast, they have a specific goal in mind.  I did not have that.  My goal was simply to be more Christ-like. 

Ultimately, I intend to fast more regularly now.  I’m thinking of repeating this same fast, but only with 7 days of abstinence, once every couple months.  My reasoning for that is everything I gained from the 3 weeks of fasting was gained in that first week.  The first week was the most challenging, the most fulfilling, and the most developing for my person and my spirit.  Everything after that felt sort of unnecessary in comparison and was actually much easier.  The greatest benefit of going the entire 3 week span is that now, when I’m tempted by unnecessary cravings or things that I know I could go without, I can just stop and tell my self “I went THREE FREAKING WEEKS without food.  I ate dinner three hours ago, I can wait until I wake up tomorrow for more.”  That helps to shut up my longings.

I would recommend that everybody fast something.  It is a practice that we are called to follow as disciples of Christ, and that is demonstrated for us by many Biblical figures throughout the course of history.  At the end of this post will be a link that shares dozens of passages regarding fasting throughout the Bible.

I suppose that’s everything.  Thank you for reading and hopefully I will be able to make the gap between this post and the next shorter than the last gap.  I am tired now and, having writ the final words, may have passage to slumber.  Goodnight.

http://christianteens.about.com/od/christianliving/a/VersesOnFasting.htm

Leave a Reply

